Leading up to The Big Move

CountriesSign

Due to the job I was in, it required me to hand my notice in by the end of May to say I would not be returning for the start of the next academic year in September. I gave my notice in at the start of May, which was such a scary thing. That made it all more real. If I freaked out or it all fell apart, I would not have a job.

Then we decided it made sense to move back to where I grew up, back in with my parents so I could spend time with them before I abandoned them for a while. Plus it would be a great way to save money and pack up/organise life.

So we changed our addresses and all the boring things like that when you move to a different area, packed up our house (including furniture that we hadn’t managed to sell) and moved it across the UK. It really was lovely to be back with my parents and at home spending time with them and friends. Having home ‘home’ as my base was a fabulous way to spend the summer but my god, leaving my job for the last three years, packing up and moving house 6 weeks before you move to the other side of the world, was slightly stressful and emotionally draining.

Having so many leaving events with different friendship groups was wonderful, again emotionally draining, in a good way. My friends really outdid themselves as they made me feel so loved and prepared to take on this big decision but it made me miss them the second they left and before I had even left the UK. The same with my family – I couldn’t believe I was actively choosing to move so far away from them, but they were so supportive even though I know they probably didn’t feel totally onboard with my decision.

Then all there was to do was pack my life into two suitcases…which was a pretty big challenge in itself!

Leave a Reply

