Beginning of The Big Move

tumblr_olvdh3qs4c1w6himlo1_500

I have been someone who always did the most ‘logical’ thing at the ‘right’ time or the ‘right’ thing at the ‘logical’ time. I left College and went to University straight away, I didn’t take a gap year as I didn’t want to at the time. Then when it came to the start of my final year at Uni, I had no idea what I was going to do, I had no savings and couldn’t even think about applying for jobs.

 

So I applied to do a Postgraduate Degree in Primary Education. I had always been surrounded by teachers; most of my family are/were teachers or worked within education. Then before I knew it, I had moved home and completed the most intense 10 months of my life (to date) and I still didn’t know what I wanted to do. All I knew was that I was ready to be out of Education and go off on my travels.

 

But then I was offered a very good job in a local primary school – and everyone around me advised me how important it was to complete your first year of teaching while the training was fresh. So again, I did the logical thing at the right time. I knew that if I was to be more desirable as a candidate in the future, I needed to complete my NQT (newly qualified teacher) year at that time. So…I accepted the job and the travelling plans were put on hold.

 

Although I have always wanted to live abroad – I just thought it would be Europe or the East Coast of the US – not Australia. So I accepted the job and forgot about the dreams (that sounds so dramatic – I didn’t mean it to!). Then I moved back to the city in the UK where I went to University for three years, where I got my second teaching job. I remained at that school for three years and secured a senior leadership position – turns out that aspect of my role was the job of my dreams.

 

It was mid 2015 when the idea of moving country was becoming more of an actual plan – it had loosely been discussed for a few years prior to this. Then I began to feel I was getting too far into my ‘career’ (if I can even call it that!) and I also discovered I liked my roots and routines, so moving country rather than travelling might be the route for me. If I was going to do it, it needed to be now.

Leave a Reply

